— Bibliographic Items

Free voice of Labor: Jewish Anarchists

Photo Taken from Jewish Women's Archive
Material Type: 

 Directed by Steven Fischler and Joel Sucher


This documentary is about Jewish anarchists in New York City during the late ninteenth-century through the mid twentieth-century and their main printed newspaper, the Free Voice of Labor (Fraye Arbeter Shtimme). In addition to providing information on an interesting and often overlooked part of Jewish history, the film also features quite a few revolutionaly Yiddish songs. The film also features a scene from the 1932 film Uncle Moses.  

More information can be found at the National Center for Jewish Film at Brandeis University website


The tracklist to the film's soundtrack:

  1. Ellis island- Solomon Schmulewitz

  2. Mein Rue Platz-Morris rosenfeld

  3. Vahkt Oyf (awaken!) – Dovid Edelstadt

  4. Makhness Geyen (masses marching) – Milchel Gelbart

  5. In Ale Gas/Hey Hey Daloy Politsey (hey hey down with the police)-Folksong (This song was featured as this website's May 2010 song of the month)

  6. A Grus Fun (regards from trenches)- Isodore Lillman

  7. Tsiganeshtl-music from dave tarras